Reutberg Monastery Brewery
© oberbayern.de / Peter von Felbert
This is Upper Bavaria

What makes us special

Upper Bavaria is more than just a series of highlights. Upper Bavaria offers a unique diversity. From hop-heavy cultural and alpine natural landscapes to urban centers. Playful river valleys, progressive city districts and secluded valley heads - all this is a natural part of Upper Bavaria. Traditional arts and crafts meet one of the most relevant innovation and start-up clusters in Germany. Young nightlife culture meets classic, but also modern high culture. A pub culture that feels so simple and yet is so unifying. Upper Bavaria is constantly creating something new from this communication and dialog, a constant change and integration, a live and let live. Without losing its core. Traditions are alive in their development. Upper Bavaria connects and integrates this unique, colorful and multifaceted diversity.


Between lakes & mountains

Upper Bavaria is framed by the majestic Alps in the south and the blue ribbon of the Danube in the north.

Experience special highlights in Upper Bavaria: Lake Chiemsee, the largest lake in Bavaria, is located here. The Zugspitze, Germany's highest mountain, towers over the region. And the Hallertau, the largest contiguous hop-growing region in the world, is the origin of Bavarian beer enjoyment.

There are 133 nature reserves, 248 landscape conservation areas, 148 FFH areas, 27 EU bird sanctuaries and at least 580 geotopes in Upper Bavaria. The Ammergau Alps are currently the largest nature reserve.

Top in Germany

Upper Bavaria achieved a gross domestic product of almost 268 billion euros in 2017. In Germany, Upper Bavaria is the region with the second-highest gross domestic product per inhabitant. The state capital of Munich and its surrounding area form one of the most dynamic economic regions in Europe and the center of economic activity in Bavaria. Upper Bavaria combines an advantageous geographical location and ideal conditions for companies with a range of leisure and recreational activities that is hard to beat.

The economy in Upper Bavaria is characterized by a healthy mix of high-tech and craftsmanship. This is what it stands for:

  • 388,550 companies at the IHK Munich and Upper Bavaria
  • 79,400 craft businesses
  • Large-scale industry in the Munich area (with BMW, MAN, Siemens), in the Ingolstadt area (with Audi and Airbus Defence and Space) and in the southeast Bavarian chemical triangle (with Wacker Chemie)

When it comes to research and development , Upper Bavaria is one of the leading regions in the European Union:

  • four universities and four universities of applied sciences
  • twelve Max Planck Institutes
  • four Fraunhofer Institutes with headquarters in Upper Bavaria
  • Top ranking for patent applications in Germany and Europe (6,420 patents, as of 2017)

With over 42 million overnight stays, Upper Bavaria regularly ranks among the 20 most important tourist regions of all 27 states in the European Union.

Experience diversity

We could now simply rehash clichés about Upper Bavaria. Pictures of traditional costumes, beer and mountains. Or urban images from Munich. Art, culture and hip city life. But none of this does justice to the diversity of Upper Bavaria.

Upper Bavaria is city and countryside and everything in between. Upper Bavaria is tradition and new beginnings. Upper Bavaria is rural seclusion and cosmopolitanism. Upper Bavaria is the Bavarian Alps and hilly landscapes, lakes and river valleys. It is precisely this mixture that makes Upper Bavaria so attractive for us. Contrasts and apparent incompatibilities create an overall picture. A real Upper Bavaria.

Upper Bavaria comprises three independent cities and 20 administrative districts. The Duchy of Upper Bavaria was first created in 1255 under Ludwig the Strict. The borders changed again and again and have only been stable in their current form since 1972.

Between superlatives and gimmicks

Upper Bavaria is a region of superlatives. But to be honest, that's not really important to us. Numbers are above all gimmicks for us. The enjoyment of landscapes, the togetherness of people and the experience of cultures is our focus. Nevertheless, we don't want to keep our most exciting figures to ourselves.

  • 370 kilometers of slopes in family-friendly ski resorts
  • 1040 Foundation of the oldest brewery in the world (Weihenstephan State Brewery in Freising)
  • 19 liters of beer (66.7 kg): current world record for carrying a beer mug
  • Experience 1,200 km of water cycle paths
  • Discover over 90 mountains
  • 133 Nature reserves to explore

© Munich Tourism / Frank Stolle

Sustainability

Upper Bavaria is more than just a buzzword. As a place to live and experience, Upper Bavaria is home to not quite 5 million people on an area of a good 17,000 square kilometers. Of this, 80,000 hectares are designated as nature conservation areas - a total of 133 sub-areas. The landscape of Upper Bavaria ranges from sustainably managed alpine pastures and the natural Isar floodplains to mosses and felts.
Numerous initiatives are working to make your stay in Upper Bavaria even more sustainable. You can safely leave your car behind, as Upper Bavaria is equipped with reliable and comprehensive public transportation.

© Oberbayern
Das ist Oberbayern

Was uns ausmacht

Oberbayern ist mehr als eine Reihung von Highlights. Oberbayern bietet eine einzigartige Vielfalt. Von hopfenlastigen Kultur- über alpine Naturlandschaften bis hin zu urbanen Zentren. Verspielte Flusstäler, progressive Stadtviertel und einsame Talschlüsse – all das gehört ganz selbstverständlich zu Oberbayern. Traditionelles Kunsthandwerk trifft hier auf eines der relevantesten Innovations- und Gründungscluster in Deutschland. Junge Ausgehkultur trifft auf klassische, aber eben auch moderne Hochkultur. Eine Wirtshauskultur, die gefühlt so einfach und doch so verbindend ist. Oberbayern schafft sich aus dieser Kommunikation und diesem Dialog immer wieder auch neu, eine ständige Veränderung und Integration, ein Leben und leben lassen. Ohne dabei seinen Kern zu verlieren. Traditionen sind lebendig in ihrer Entwicklung. Oberbayern verbindet und integriert diese einzigartige, bunte und facettenreiche Vielfalt.


Zwischen Seen & Bergen

Eingerahmt wird Oberbayern durch die majestätischen Alpen im Süden und das blaue Band der Donau im Norden.

Erleben Sie besondere Highlights in Oberbayern: Hier liegt der Chiemsee, der größte See Bayerns. Mit der Zugspitze thront der höchste Berg Deutschlands über das Land. Und die Hallertau, das größte zusammenhängende Hopfenanbaugebiet der Welt, ist der Ursprung für bayerischen Biergenuss.

In Oberbayern gibt es 133 Naturschutzgebiete, 248 Landschaftsschutzgebiete, 148 FFH-Gebiete, 27 EU-Vogelschutzgebiete und mindestens 580 Geotope. Das aktuell größte Naturschutzgebiet sind die Ammergauer Alpen.

Spitze in Deutschland

Oberbayern erzielte 2017 ein Bruttoinlandsprodukt von fast 268 Milliarden Euro. In Deutschland ist Oberbayern die Region mit dem zweithöchsten Bruttoinlandsprodukt je Einwohner. Die Landeshauptstadt München und ihr Umland bilden eine der dynamischsten Wirtschaftsregionen Europas und das Zentrum des wirtschaftlichen Geschehens in Bayern. Oberbayern verbindet eine vorteilhafte geografische Lage und optimale Standortbedingungen für Unternehmen mit einem kaum zu übertreffenden Freizeit- und Erholungsangebot.

Die Wirtschaft in Oberbayern zeichnet sich durch eine gesunde Mischung von Hightech und Handwerk aus. Hierfür stehen:

  • 388.550 Unternehmen bei der IHK München und Oberbayern
  • 79.400 Handwerksbetriebe
  • Großindustrie im Raum München (mit BMW, MAN, Siemens), im Raum Ingolstadt (mit Audi und Airbus Defence and Space) sowie im Südostbayerischen Chemiedreieck (mit Wacker Chemie)

Bei Forschung und Entwicklung ist Oberbayern eine der führenden Regionen in der Europäischen Union mit:

  • vier Universitäten und vier Fachhochschulen
  • zwölf Max-Planck-Instituten
  • vier Fraunhofer-Instituten mit Hauptsitz in Oberbayern
  • Top-Platzierung bei Patentanmeldungen in Deutschland und Europa (6.420 Patente, Stand 2017)

Als Tourismusmagnet liegt Oberbayern mit über 42 Millionen Übernachtungen regelmäßig unter den 20 wichtigsten Tourismusregionen aller 27 Staaten der Europäischen Union.

Vielfalt erleben

Wir könnten jetzt einfach Klischees zu Oberbayern aufbereiten. Bilder von Trachten, Bier und Bergen. Oder urbane Bilder aus München. Kunst, Kultur und hippes Stadtleben. Doch wird nichts davon Oberbayern in seiner Vielfalt gerecht.

Oberbayern ist Stadt und Land und alles dazwischen. Oberbayern ist Tradition und Aufbruch. Oberbayern ist dörfliche Abgeschiedenheit und Weltoffenheit. Oberbayern sind bayerische Alpen und Hügellandschaften, Seen und Flusstäler. Gerade diese Mischung macht für uns den Reiz Oberbayerns aus. Gegensätze und scheinbare Unvereinbarkeiten ergeben ein Gesamtbild. Ein echtes Oberbayern eben.

Oberbayern umfasst drei kreisfreie Städte und 20 Landkreise. 1255 wurde unter Ludwig dem Strengen zuerst das Herzogtum Oberbayern geschaffen. Die Grenzen veränderten sich immer wieder und sind erst seit 1972 in der heutigen Form stabil.

Zwischen Superlativen und Spielereien

Oberbayern ist eine Region der Superlative. Doch ehrlich gesagt ist das für uns nicht wirklich wichtig. Zahlen sind für uns vor allem Spielereien. Der Genuss von Landschaften, das Miteinander von Menschen und das Erleben von Kulturen steht bei uns im Fokus. Mit unseren spannendsten Zahlen möchten wir natürlich dennoch nicht hinterm Berg halten.

  • 370 Pistenkilometer in familienfreundlichen Skigebieten
  • 1040 Gründung der ältesten Brauerei der Welt (Staatsbrauerei Weihenstephan in Freising)
  • 19 Maß Bier (66,7 kg): aktueller Weltrekord im Maßkrug-Tragen
  • 1.200 km Wasser-Radlwege erleben
  • über 90 Berge entdecken
  • 133 Naturschutzgebiete erkunden

© Oberbayern, Peter von Felbert

Nachhaltigkeit

Oberbayern ist Nachhaltigkeit mehr als ein Schlagwort. Als Lebens- und Erlebnisraum beheimatet Oberbayern nicht ganz 5 Mio. Menschen auf einer Fläche von gut 17.000 qkm. Davon sind ganze 80.000 ha als Naturschutzgebiete ausgewiesen – insgesamt 133 Teilflächen. Von den nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Almflächen über die natürlichen Isarauen bis hin zu Moosen und Filzen reicht dieses Landschaftsbild Oberbayerns.
Zahlreiche Initiativen bemühen sich, Ihren Aufenthalt in Oberbayern noch nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Ihr Auto können Sie getrost stehen lassen, denn Oberbayern ist mit zuverlässigen und flächendeckenden öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln ausgestattet.